Tigers X - Number one Source to Talk Auburn Tigers Sports

The Statutes

wesfau2

• I love it when you call me Big Poppa
The Statutes
« on: July 12, 2017, 10:27:54 AM »
I keep hearing that the now-verified/admitted meeting with the Russian lawyer (understood by the Trump campaign to be an agent of the Kremlin) between TrumpJr, Kushner and Manafort is of no legal consequence.  That’s all.  No support for the naked conclusion, but that’s the talking point.

To recap, the story appears to be thus: Goldstone reaches out to TrumpJr and tells him that he can arrange a meeting with a “crown prosecutor” of Russia who has damaging information regarding Hillary Clinton.

I’ll offer the disclaimer that I’m no federal prosecutor, but I can read statutes and the narrative appears to violate various provisions of the US Code.  Specifically, the following:

I.   In corresponding with the “crown prosecutor” through Goldstone, the Trump campaign (through its agents) engaged in illegal private correspondence with a foreign government.

18 USC §953. Private correspondence with foreign governments
Any citizen of the United States, wherever he may be, who, without authority of the United States, directly or indirectly commences or carries on any correspondence or intercourse with any foreign government or any officer or agent thereof, with intent to influence the measures or conduct of any foreign government or of any officer or agent thereof, in relation to any disputes or controversies with the United States, or to defeat the measures of the United States, shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than three years, or both.
This section shall not abridge the right of a citizen to apply, himself or his agent, to any foreign government or the agents thereof for redress of any injury which he may have sustained from such government or any of its agents or subjects.