Tigers X - Number one Source to Talk Auburn Tigers Sports

When in Rome...

Kaos

• Jeez
    • No, YOU Move!
When in Rome...
« on: May 04, 2016, 02:35:09 AM »
This echoes something I've been saying for the last 15-20 years.  So many similarities with where we are now and where the Roman Empire was before it collapsed.   

http://www.usatoday.com/story/opinion/2016/05/03/government-complexity-entrenched-special-interests-illinois-puerto-rico-venezuela-column/83801194/

Remember that the more resources you put under the control of the political class, the more likely it is that things will eventually go bad. Politicians seldom look past the next election, and they’re willing to sacrifice pretty much anything to hang on. And that “pretty much anything” includes you.
friendly
funny
dislike
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
If you want free cheese, look in a mousetrap.

bottomfeeder

• We're screwed.
Re: When in Rome...
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2016, 10:12:38 AM »
This echoes something I've been saying for the last 15-20 years.  So many similarities with where we are now and where the Roman Empire was before it collapsed.   

http://www.usatoday.com/story/opinion/2016/05/03/government-complexity-entrenched-special-interests-illinois-puerto-rico-venezuela-column/83801194/

Remember that the more resources you put under the control of the political class, the more likely it is that things will eventually go bad. Politicians seldom look past the next election, and they’re willing to sacrifice pretty much anything to hang on. And that “pretty much anything” includes you.

I concur. What's the fix?
friendly
funny
dislike
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions

The Six

• Leaning on a broken fence b/t past & present tense
    • My Linktree
Re: When in Rome...
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2016, 10:27:48 AM »
I concur. What's the fix?