Tigers X - Number one Source to Talk Auburn Tigers Sports

Yet another "law of unintended consequences"

GH2001

• I'm a Miller guy. Always been. Since I was like, 8
Re: Yet another "law of unintended consequences"
« Reply #20 on: May 19, 2011, 04:08:17 PM »
To my knowledge, CFL was created solely for the purpose of indoor lighting.  I don't think that this particular technology was significantly used for several decades in screens and displays with successful results in the lifespan and reliability of the product.  I think the durability of LED lighting has already been proven in other fields.  Again, I'm not an engineer, so I don't know if these bulbs are taking some drastic measures to change the way in which the basic concept of how illuminating an LED works, but I would assume that it can't be that different.  You're utilizing a light source that has proven its durability in other fields, and you're plugging into a standard socket that has proven to be stable for incandescent bulbs.  There's no major change in the electricity required or the type of socket utilized for the lighting as there was for CFL.