AUTailgatingRules

• Home of the Tailgate
  • By the Pink Dumpster since 2004
A Letter To O'Reilly Concerning Gustav
« on: September 12, 2008, 03:37:31 PM »
Pretty much nails it:

Hello Mr. O'Reilly,

I am a nurse who has just completed working approximately 120 hours
  as the clinic director in a Hurricane Gustav evacuation shelter in Shreveport ,
Louisiana over the last 7 days.  I would love to see someone look at the evacuee
 situation from a new perspective.  Local and national news channels have covered
   the evacuation and 'horrible' conditions the evacuees had to endure during Hurricane
  Gustav. 

True - some things were not optimal for the evacuation and the shelters need
 some modification. At any point, does anyone address the responsibility (or
  irresponsibility) of the evacuees?

Does it seem wrong that one would remember their cell phone, charger, cigarettes
 and lighter but forget their child's insulin?

Is something amiss when an evacuee gets off the bus, walks immediately to the
 medical area, and requests immediate free refills on all medicines for which they
  cannot provide a prescription or current bottle (most of which are narcotics)?

Isn't the system flawed when an evacuee says they cannot afford a $3 copay for a
 refill that will be delivered to them in the shelter yet they can take a
 city-provided bus to Wal-mart, buy 5 bottles of Vodka, and return to consume
 them secretly in the shelter?

Is it fair to stop performing luggage checks on incoming evacuees so as not to
 delay the registration process but endanger the volunteer staff and other persons
 with the very realistic truth of drugs, alcohol and weapons being brought into the shelter?

Am I less than compassionate when it frustrates me to scrub emesis from the
 floor near a nauseated child while his mother lies nearby, watching me work 26
 hours straight, not even raising her head from the pillow to comfort her own son?