Tigers X - Number one Source to Talk Auburn Tigers Sports

Bad Dad

Kaos

• Jeez
    • No, YOU Move!
Bad Dad
« on: June 12, 2018, 10:33:06 PM »
When I think back on my high school career, the teachers I remember are those that challenged me, demanded that be better, pushed me and with whom I didn't always agree.  The teachers I don't remember much at all are the ones who wanted to be our "buddy" and didn't want anybody to be mad at them; the ones we ran all over.  

When I remember the parenting I got in my younger days, the things that are most important to me are the times my parents did what they said they would do.  My parents didn't try to be my best friend.  They forced me to accept some difficult truths.  They made me earn my own way.  We haven't always had the best relationship, but I never doubted them.  They had faith in me.  

As a business owner, I've tried to be pals with my employees.  It doesn't work.  Instead they failed me and I failed them.  Instead, I've had to bury my natural tendencies to 'be the good guy' and deal with them honestly and in some respects distantly.  I tell my employees that they are the most important asset the company has, but the company has to come first in my decision making.  It's not always pleasant.  

That's where we are right now.  

Obama was the buddy teacher, the cool dad, the pal boss.  In that complete narcissism, he placed 'feelings' over substance.  He was so afraid of not being liked that he bent over and took a broomstick up the butt from the entire globe.  

Trump?  He's the disciplined parent.  He's the teacher who demands accountability at every level -- from our allies, from our enemies, from his staff, from the nation.  He's the bottom-line businessman whose every decision is predicated on what's best for the country.  He deals from strength.  

He's quickly becoming the best president of our lifetime.  And it's not even close.