Tigers X - Number one Source to Talk Auburn Tigers Sports

What are your thoughts on solving student loan debt?

GH2001

• I'm a Miller guy. Always been. Since I was like, 8
Re: What are your thoughts on solving student loan debt?
« Reply #20 on: August 25, 2014, 12:32:26 PM »
You must have many leather bound books and your office smells of mahogany.

I must have missed something here and I haven't kept up since I am no longer in school or really interested in going back, but when did college loan interest rates get so high? 

I got mine locked in at 2.25% and didn't have to make the first payment until six months after I graduated if I chose to do so.  They would send the school a check, the school would take out it's part for tuition and call me up to pick up what was left to pay for books, rent, food and miscellaneous expenses.   Of course this was 18 years ago so I am out of the loop.

I do believe it was RIGHT after our graduating class. The demand went up, the costs went up, the lending went up. They charged it because they: 1. were hedging their risk with the amount of loans to students (not exactly low risk) and 2. because they could
friendly
funny
dislike
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
WDE

AUTailgatingRules

• Home of the Tailgate
  • By the Pink Dumpster since 2004
« Reply #21 on: August 25, 2014, 12:40:23 PM »
I do believe it was RIGHT after our graduating class. The demand went up, the costs went up, the lending went up. They charged it because they: 1. were hedging their risk with the amount of loans to students (not exactly low risk) and 2. because they could

The spike in interest rates directly correlates to the increase in Gov't involvement.  The gov't now guarantees student loans where it used to be the banks taking their own risks.

Since everyone is now entitled to "college loans" the rates must be higher to cover the defaults by those that had no business getting them in the first place
friendly
funny
dislike
No reactions