Tigers X - Number one Source to Talk Auburn Tigers Sports

Can you shoot a dog on your property?

Can you shoot a dog on your property?
« on: March 24, 2014, 03:35:49 PM »

Quick summary: Two pit bulls got out of a guy's house and ran to a neighbor's backyard.  The neighbor has a goat, which I believe is illegal to own in city limits but I'm not sure, and he also has two dogs he keeps on long chains.  The neighbor used a shotgun and shot the two pit bulls to death. 

Is it legal to use a gun on your property in a residential neighborhood to shoot an animal that may be harming your pets? 
friendly
funny
dislike
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
The Guy That Knows Nothing of Hyperbole

Buzz Killington

• Bofa
Re: Can you shoot a dog on your property?
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2014, 03:47:19 PM »
I am not a lawyer that really cares about your problems, but I believe you can.
friendly
funny
dislike
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
Now I may be an idiot, but there is one thing I am not, sir, and that, sir, is an idiot.

Vandy Vol

• Bitches ain't shit but hos and tricks.
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2014, 04:01:36 PM »
You might want to check to see if there are any applicable county or city laws, but statewide, you can not shoot a dog solely for being on your property.  Section 13A-11-241 makes it illegal to inflict any injury on a cat or dog, which would include shooting it.  The exceptions to this rule are in Section 13A-11-246, which states that a person won't be charged with animal cruelty for shooting an animal if:

1.)  They kill a dog or cat found outside of the property of the owner of the dog or cat when the dog or cat threatens immediate physical injury or is causing physical injury to any person, animal, bird, or silvicultural or agricultural industry.

2.)  They shoot a dog or cat with a BB gun not capable of inflicting serious injury when the dog or cat is defecating or urinating on the person's property.