Tigers X - Number one Source to Talk Auburn Tigers Sports

Guitar: Been watching this clip on repeat

Guitar: Been watching this clip on repeat
« on: February 15, 2014, 01:33:13 PM »
Any of you guitar guys want to tell me how he pulls of that slap playing at around 2:17?  I've never heard anything like it.

friendly
funny
dislike
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
You meet a man on the Oregon Trail. He tells you his name is Terry. You laugh and tell him: "That's a girl's name!" Terry shoots you. You have died of dissin' Terry.

Re: Guitar: Been watching this clip on repeat
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2014, 02:42:26 PM »
I'd like to preface that I play guitar for a living now and am well versed in what I believe are the greatest guitar players in history such as Chet Atkins, Tommy Emmanuel, Django Reinhardt, Joscho Stephan, Lenny Breau, Martin Taylor, Brent Mason and many, many more. 

I think the part at 2:17 is well, juvenile.  Just a bit of quick slapping while pulling the string up high like he's yanking a dick off.  It's a bit like a slap bass.  Just my opinion.

I don't think I could play it that fast right now, but it's really just typical slapping technique done quickly and violently. 
friendly
funny
dislike
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
The Guy That Knows Nothing of Hyperbole

« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2014, 03:09:00 PM »
I'd like to preface that I play guitar for a living now and am well versed in what I believe are the greatest guitar players in history such as Chet Atkins, Tommy Emmanuel, Django Reinhardt, Joscho Stephan, Lenny Breau, Martin Taylor, Brent Mason and many, many more. 

I think the part at 2:17 is well, juvenile.  Just a bit of quick slapping while pulling the string up high like he's yanking a richard off.  It's a bit like a slap bass.  Just my opinion.

I don't think I could play it that fast right now, but it's really just typical slapping technique done quickly and violently.