Tigers X - Number one Source to Talk Auburn Tigers Sports

Jimmy Sexton: Power Behind the Throne

Tiger Wench

• Does this armour make my ass look big?
Jimmy Sexton: Power Behind the Throne
« on: January 03, 2014, 11:57:31 PM »
I gotta admit.  I negotiate oilfield contracts for a living, and this sounds like SO much more fun. Wonder if he needs a protege?

How Jimmy Sexton became college football's most powerful agent

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. -- When the national title game kicks off on Monday night, agent Jimmy Sexton predicts he'll be miserable. Sexton is the first agent to represent both coaches in a BCS championship game, which means he'll sit in attendance with his three sons, carefully dressed so that his color scheme doesn't hint at an allegiance to Florida State or Auburn.

"I wouldn't miss the game, but even in the regular season it's tough to go to a game where you have two clients," Sexton said. "It's especially tough when it's for the national championship, as one guy will be elated and the other guy will be dejected."

Few figures will loom larger over the game than Sexton. Not only does he represent the Seminoles' Jimbo Fisher and the Tigers' Gus Malzahn, but he also has emerged as a central figure in the University of Texas' coaching search. The specter of the Longhorns' job has hovered over the sport for months, coinciding with a chain reaction of raises for Sexton clients including Fisher, Malzahn, Alabama's Nick Saban and UCLA's Jim Mora. The flurry of speculation and contract extensions has further cemented Sexton's power in college football, something that's grabbed headlines, provided fodder for blogs and petrified fan bases into wondering if their messiah coach might flee. Sexton bristles at the perception of him as a "Darth Vader figure" -- his words -- lording over the sport, but his influence is real.