• Female Pledge Trainer
  • Auburn Basketball Hits Everything
More Bama Spin
« on: April 02, 2012, 02:25:58 PM »
http://www.al.com/sports/index.ssf/2012/04/georgia_signee_says_he_felt_aw.html

Georgia signee says he felt "awkward" around Nick Saban, laughed at Gene Chizik
Published: Monday, April 02, 2012, 12:12 PM
By Matt Scalici, al.com

Hamilton, Georgia defensive end Jordan Jenkins was one of the top targets for both Alabama head coach Nick Saban and Auburn's Gene Chizik in the 2012 recruiting cycle, but the Crimson Tide and Tigers weren't able to woo Jenkins away from the home-state Georgia Bulldogs.

According to an interview with the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Jenkins said that part of what kept him from committing to the Tide was a lack of personal connection with Saban.

"I was a lot closer to Coach (Kirby) Smart than I was with Coach Saban," Jenkins told the AJC's Micheal Carvell. "When Coach Saban is around a bunch of football players, he's more open than he is when it's just you and your family. Coach Saban is a great coach but he's a quiet guy. It sometimes felt awkward being around him."

Jenkins said that his family's lack of confidence in the long-term stability of the Tide coaching staff also played a role in his decision.

"My mom didn't know ... she was always uncertain how long coach Sal Sunseri and coach Kirby Smart were going to be at Alabama. And then, a few days after [I committed], Coach Sal was gone to Tennessee."

Jenkins also commented on Auburn head coach Gene Chizik's recruiting tactics, saying he found them hard to take seriously.