Tigers X - Number one Source to Talk Auburn Tigers Sports

Stewart Mandel's Post-Spring Rankings

Ogre

Stewart Mandel's Post-Spring Rankings
« on: May 01, 2008, 02:29:48 PM »
I'll list just the SEC teams.  For the full article, click here.

Georgia exits spring as No. 1

I've been writing these end-of-spring power rankings for several years now, and for once, I actually feel confident that I know what I'm talking about.

Why? Because the unprecedented amount of coverage surrounding spring football these days -- televised spring games, Saturday-night highlights and near-daily stories in certain parts of the country -- means that what takes place during those 15 practices is no longer top-secret information. (Except at Alabama, of course.)

On the pages that follow, you'll find a brief recap of developments that took place during each team's spring camp, as well as a "spring star" -- a young player or career reserve that turned heads during practices/scrimmages and will likely make an impact in the fall.

It's no coincidence, by the way, that my colleague Andrew Perloff's recent 2009 NFL mock draft included a whole bunch of players from Ohio State and USC and a No. 1 overall pick from Georgia. It's becoming increasingly clear to me that those three teams are absolutely loaded heading into this season and therefore sit atop this poll, but I certainly wouldn't sneeze at Missouri, LSU, Oklahoma or Florida, either.

1.  Georgia Bulldogs (11-2 in 2007)
Returning starters: 17 (Offense: 8 Defense: 9)

Key returnees: QB Matthew Stafford, RB Knowshon Moreno, DT Geno Atkins, LB Danell Ellerbe, CB Asher Allen.

Spring star: RB Caleb King. The redshirt freshman was impressive in Georgia's spring game and should provide a nice complement to Moreno in the fall.