Help Me Decide the Rest of My Life

Kaos

• Jeez
    • No, YOU Move!
Re: Help Me Decide the Rest of My Life
« Reply #20 on: July 11, 2011, 03:29:35 PM »
I usually scoff at threads like these. 

But I need second opinions. 

As some of you know, I'm currently a high school English teacher, and I have been for four years.  I enjoy my job, but I'm ready to advance my career.  I guess ambition's getting the best of me, and public school doesn't have much room for promotion. 

So I'm stuck on the following options for grad school, and I can't for the life of me figure out what to do.

Should I get....

an MFA in Creative Writing to teach college courses on writing and also spend time writing on my own?

an MA in Instructional Leadership with the intent of working towards a Ph.D so I can teach college courses?  (I could also become a principal at a public school if I needed to.  But fuck that for now.)

an MA in English with the intent of working towards a Ph.D so I can teach college courses? 

an MA in Language Arts education with the intent of working towards a Ph.D so I can - you guessed it - teach college courses? 

Why is this so difficult to decide?  I've been wondering about this for two years now.

I'm going to give you two words that will change your life. 

Community College. 

Get a masters.  Get it in a core subject -- history, science, math. 

Get into the community college system.  You'll make more money than you do at a four-year school with less investment of your time and money.  You'll have more freedom than you ever dreamed of. 

You won't have to publish to survive, thus freeing you up to write as much as you want for your own purposes. 

Do this.   
friendly
funny
dislike
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
No reactions
If you want free cheese, look in a mousetrap.

« Reply #21 on: July 11, 2011, 04:01:40 PM »
Something I've noticed about Auburn's department of education:

Florida State has infiltrated the university.